Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT)

Title: Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT)
Author: Naglieri, J. A.
Year: 1996
Description: Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT) uses progressive matrices to measure students’ overall ability without the use of language. Bright, attractive, and engaging to students, NNAT uses items consisting of shapes and designs that are not unique to any cultural group. This assures that it is a fair, effective test for use with a wide variety of students, regardless of their educational experiences, cultural background, or language background. NNAT is unbiased for students with hearing impairment or children with impaired color vision. The NNAT has seven separate levels: kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grades each have their own, and grades 3 and 4, 5 and 6, 7-9, and 10-12 are grouped into those respective levels. There are 38 items for each level. Each level has a separate test booklet and the stimulus items for the level are in the booklet. There are machine-scorable answer forms and the students must fill in the circle (1-5) on the form that corresponds to their answers for the items. The items are grouped into four clusters: Pattern Completion (PC), Reasoning by Analogy (RA), Serial Reasoning (SR), and Spatial Visualization (SV). Naglieri, in the technical manual, contends that each cluster, to a certain extent, reflects general ability in a somewhat unique way and that the items are not biased for gender, race, or ethnicity. There are items that signify these four domains at every level except kindergarten, which does not contain Serial Reasoning or Spatial Visualization items, and 1st grade, which does not contain Spatial Visualization items
Age Range: Children
Administration: individual
  • 1 Test Booklet- Level E (grades 5-6)
  • 1 Multilevel Norms Booklet
  • 1 Answer Key Level E
  • 1 Answer Key Level F (grades 7-9)
Publisher: Pearson Education
Qualification Level: Level B or 2
Test Category: Aptitude
Print Friendly, PDF & Email